18 July 2008

Final 'Forth' details for the UK release

Before laying out the UK release details, I'll note that the band's management/record label have provided no official news about the US release of 'Forth.' I find this fairly disappointing. The information I've managed to post has come from individuals sharing the information with me and not from a higher up. By now I would have expected more specific official news about the album release this side of the Atlantic.

The problem lies in the separate editions, namely referring to any edition with a DVD extra. For now it appears that in order to get the DVD extra, fans in the US need to buy the LP edition priced at around $40. I personally don't care for an LP edition, but there has been no indication that a CD and DVD combined set will be released. In addition, the DVD released here will not include the extra performances listed for the UK release.

The following was sent to the band's mailing list about the UK release only. I've edited some areas to include details for fans in the US.

'Forth' will be released on Monday August 25th
1. Sit And Wonder
2. Love Is Noise
3. Rather Be
4. Judas
5. Numbness
6. I See Houses
7. Noise Epic
8. Valium Skies
9. Columbo (Mama Soul in the US)
10. Appalachian Springs
Three different versions of the album will be available to pre-order from The Verve's official online store. Other locations have also announced a pre-order. For those in the US, please check the USA pre-order links I've posted.

Deluxe Box set

For the UK, the deluxe box set will only be available at The Verve's official online store. This version will consist of a double heavyweight gatefold LP vinyl (containing two bonus tracks not on the CD version of the album), limited edition CD, DVD, and a memorabilia tour book. A similar set will be available in the US minus the memorabilia tour book and the DVD extras noted below.

If you order the deluxe edition (not recommended for those in the US unless you have $140 lying around, plus the DVD will be in PAL) you will receive a download of 'Love Is Noise' recorded live at Glastonbury, and will also receive the full album as a download on August 18th, one week ahead of the general release date.

CD & DVD Package
A CD and DVD package is also available in the UK. Its unsure yet whether this package will be available in the US. The DVD features a band documentary and live footage from The Verve's headlining appearance at Coachella in May 2008. The set is packaged in a case bound tour book (not sure what this really means). Tracks featured on the DVD will be:
01. Sonnet (Live At Coachella)
02. Life's An Ocean (Live At Coachella)
03. The Rolling People (Live At Coachella)
04. Lucky Man (Live At Coachella)
05. Love Is Noise (Live At Coachella)
+ 20 minute "Space And Time" documentary
As with the Deluxe Edition, if you order this version of the album from the Verves official online store (alternatively US fans can buy the LP, CD, and DVD in NTSC as a package for $40 but won't include the extra performances above) you will receive a free download of 'Love Is Noise' recorded live at Glastonbury.

Original CD Album

Fans in both the UK and US will be able to buy the standard CD album upon release. If ordered from the Verves official store in the UK, one will receive a download of 'Love Is Noise' recorded at Glastonbury.
Please note: All versions of the album ordered at Verve's store before August 18th , including the deluxe box set, will be delivered on release date. Orders received after this date will be delivered as quickly as possible.
'Love is Noise' single

The video for the new single, 'Love Is Noise,' is now available to watch online on the band's Myspace. 'Love Is Noise' will be available as a digital download on August 4th, with the physical release available one week later. Full release details will be available soon.