08 September 2017

Unreleased 'Urban Hymns' era tracks appear on YouTube

Additional songs that weren't included in the deluxe 20th anniversary edition of The Verve's Urban Hymns album (released September 1) have made their way onto YouTube.

All of the tracks (uploaded between September 2-5) appear to have been recorded during the same sessions that resulted in Urban Hymns. It is speculated that one of the band members didn’t want them included.

A note on one of the video’s descriptions states that the uploader “got this a while back from a friend who works at distribution at UMC,” the label that put out the reissue.

There are 11 songs in total, many of them long-speculated unreleased songs including “All Ways Are Maybes,” “Wednesday Madness,” “Jalfrezi,” “Original Insanity,” “King Riff 2,” “Tina Turner,” and “Sweet & Sour.”

There’s also a studio version of “Oh Sister,” and alternate mixes and early demos of “This Time,” “Neon Wilderness,” and “Sonnet.” See them below.

  • Source: The Verve online community, YouTube user StarSailing, article adapted from Stereogum, James Rettig