27 April 2018

Devo, New Order and Verve supergroup announce their first gig

ShadowParty will play as part of The Charlatans' North by Northwich Festival

ShadowParty – a supergroup consisting of Devo, New Order and Verve members – have announced their first ever gig.

The band is made up of Josh Hager, currently playing guitar and keyboards in Devo, New Order bassist Tom Chapman and guitarist Phil Cunningham and Devo drummer Jeff Friedl.

Speaking of the band’s origins, Chapman says it was due to him feeling a bit “restless” after moving to Boston due to family commitments.

“I started thinking I should be meeting with some musicians and doing something with the time on my hands,” he said in a press release. “I put the word out there and Josh Hagar’s name came up. It was just a matte of getting in touch with him, being brave and knocking on his door.”

Latest News The four piece have recorded an album, with guests including Denise Johnson (Primal Scream) and The Verve’s guitarist Nick McCabe. It’s said to have a synth-pop vibe, with strings and guitars.

They’ll be making their live debut on May 18th at 1930s cinema, The Plaza, as part of The Charlatans North By Northwich. The gig is free and the show will start around 8pm. You can see the poster below.

Last year, Devo were given their own set of emojis. Devo formed in 1973 and released debut album ‘Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!’ in 1978. Their last full-length LP ‘Something for Everybody’ was released in 2010. Many of the new emojis reference memorable moments from videos for Devo hits like ‘Whip It’ and ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’ as well as other imagery unique to the band.