21 May 2000

Richard plays second secret gig in New York

Following on from Thursday's, gig in Toronto, Richard played a second secret show at Joe's Pub, Lafayette St. in New York City.

Without the first night nerves, Ashcroft appeared more relaxed and talkative than the previous night's show and played a slightly longer set. He swapped jokes with the audience and even responded to a request, playing a couple of verses from "So Sister", a b-side from "Bittersweet Symphony". A storming version of "Lucky Man" was one of the highlights of the evening.

The set list was as follows:
  1. Bittersweet Symphony
  2. Get My Beat
  3. You On My Mind In My Sleep
  4. Lucky Man
  5. So Sister
  6. Money To Burn
  7. On A Beach
  8. New York
  9. C'mon People (We're Making It Now)
Like Toronto, the set was all played on acoustic guitar apart from "On A Beach". Richard also added a couple of lines to songs in the set. During "Get My Beat" Richard added ; "We've got a righteous thing we can't sell it for the dream, yes there's something that the dollar can't buy" and in "New York", the line "Well I hear that Guiliani has cleaned this place up, but I still found 1000 ways, to get myself messed up".

Next up for Richard is a round of promotion in Europe before heading into rehearsals with a full band for V2000.