16 August 2018

BMG Scores Richard Ashcroft’s Upcoming Solo Album, Natural Rebel

Iconic British rocker Richard Ashcroft announced on Wednesday the upcoming release of his first solo album in two years.

Natural Rebel will be released on October 19 under Ashcroft’s personal imprint, RPA, through ambitiously-expanding BMG. To coincide with the announcement, BMG also released the album for pre-sale through Ashcroft’s personal website. Fans can pre-order the album on 180-gram vinyl, CD, or even cassette format.

Ashcroft told his fans that Natural Rebel will be his “strongest set of songs to date.”

Richard Ashcroft is known for both his solo work and for his time as the frontman of the rock band The Verve. The group, which disbanded in the 90s, struggled to deal with copyright infringement claims on their biggest hit, “Bittersweet Symphony.” That may have ultimately torpedoed the group, though Ashcroft soldiered on as a soloist.

All of the ten songs on the new album were written by himself. The album was produced with help from the legendary Jon Kelly and Emre Ramazanoglu.

The track list for Natural Rebel features the following songs:
  1. All My Dreams
  2. Birds Fly
  3. Surprised by the Joy
  4. That’s How Strong
  5. Born to be Strangers
  6. That’s When I Feel It
  7. We All Bleed
  8. A Man in Motion
  9. Streets of Amsterdam
  10. Money Money
In addition to the announcement of the new album, Ashcroft also released details about his upcoming tour. The tour will kick off on Friday, October 26th with a performance at the Glasgow Barrowlands. Four additional shows will follow with Ashcroft appearing in Middleborough, Nottingham, Manchester, and London. Tickets for all tour dates will go on sale on Wednesday, August 22.

The 46-year-old Ashcroft has been busy this summer touring with friend and former Oasis member Liam Gallagher.

Ashcroft’s fourth solo album, These People, climbed to number three on the UK’s Official Albums Chart in 2016. This production was released by label Cooking Vinyl.