18 August 2018

Richard Ashcroft announces new album Natural Rebel for October 2018 release

Legendary Verve frontman Richard Ashcroft has released details for a new solo record, Natural Rebel, which is set to be released on October 19th on Ashcroft’s RPA imprint. This marks Ashcroft’s 5th solo release and first since 2016’s These People. The record was co-produced by Ashcroft, Jon Kelly (Paul McCartney, Kate Bush), and Emre Ramazanoglu (Bobby Gillespie, Jarvis Cocker). Ashcroft recently completed an impressive run of tour dates with Liam Gallagher, which saw the two brit-pop icons playing to packed houses throughout the trek.

Ashcroft rose to fame fronting The Verve in the 90’s, composing the band’s biggest hit “Bittersweet Symphony” a song that got him in legal controversy as the track sampled from a Rolling Stones song “The Last Time,” with Ashcroft eventually being forced to give up most of the songwriting credit. The band eventually broke up in 1999, reuniting in 2007 which saw the original lineup get back together to tour and record the album Forth. The Verve broke up for a third and seemingly final time in 2009 and it appears that Ashcroft will continue to focus on his solo career for the time being.

Natual Rebel tracklist:
  1. All My Dreams
  2. Birds Fly
  3. Surprised By The Joy
  4. That’s How Strong
  5. Born To Be Strangers
  6. That’s When I Feel It
  7. We All Bleed
  8. A Man in Motion
  9. Streets of Amsterdam
  10. Money Money
  • Source: mxdwn, Andy Lindquist